2012 V8MA Award Winners

The inaugural V8 Media Awards have been presented at the Pyrmont Point Hotel in Sydney, acknowledging the work of the media that covered the V8 Supercars Championship in 2012. Over 50 media members from the V8 Supercars paddock voted on an extensive list of nominations.

Special guests at the awards included new CAMS CEO Eugene Arocca and former V8 Supercars champion driver Rick Kelly.

The V8 Media Association has been instigated by four V8 media members Tony Schibeci (Radio SEN), Grant Rowley (Speedcafe.com), Craig Revell (V8 Insiders/ Inside Motor Sport) and Peter Norton (Epic Sports Photography).

The inaugural awards were sponsored by Laing and Simmons Real Estate and attended by representatives from Auto Action, Speedcafe.com, Speed Channel, RaceFax, BAM Group, Veracity Media, plus other independent media members.

The 2012 Winners:

V8 Supercars Journalist of the Year, 2012 – Mark Fogarty (Fairfax/Auto Action)

Outstanding V8 Supercars race coverage, 2012 – Speedcafe.com
Best publication reporting on V8 Supercars, 2012  – Auto Action

Best V8 Supercars news story, 2012 – Shane van Gisbergen to quit V8 Supercars (Grant Rowley, Speedcafe.com)

Best V8 Supercars feature story, 2012 – SuperMerc: The Whole Story (Bruce Newton, Auto Action)

V8 Photographer of the Year, 2012 – Dirk Klynsmith
Best V8 radio program/podcast, 2012 – V8 Insiders (Craig Revell)

Best V8 TV/Track Commentator/Personality, 2012 – Richard Craill (Ten, SBS & Track Support Commentator)
Best V8 Supercars online video, 2012 – 50 years of Bathurst legends tribute (V8 Supercars)
Best V8 PR stunt/event, 2012 – Vodafone unveils King of the Mountain tribute livery (Vodafone)

V8 Media Association Hall of Fame 

Ray Berghouse (publisher, photographer)
Jon Evans (journalist, publisher)
Will Hagon (radio & TV presenter)
Barry Oliver (journalist, commentator)
John Stoneham (cartoonist)






2012, Awards