2013 V8MA Media Awards Nominations

Best News Story

SVG V8 return to Tekno (Lewis Isaac, Auto Action)
First he quit, and then the rumours started, but Lewis Isaac was the first to put Shane van Gisbergen back in the driver’s seat after a short ‘retirement’

AMG Exposed – Caught on Camera (Auto Action)
We’d already seen the Nissan Altima, and Falcons and Commodores have been racing for 20 years. What we all wanted was to see the new Erebus Mercedes. And with its spy pics, that’s exactly what Auto Action gave us.

Casey Stoner signs V8 Supercars contract (James Phelps, Sunday Telegraph, Jan 27)
James Phelps was the first to confirm Casey Stoner’s switch to four wheel motorsport in the Sunday Telegraph.

Cash crisis puts Johnson team in doubt (Mark Fogarty, Fairfax Media, January 28)
Mark Fogarty threw Dick Johnson Racing into the spotlight ahead of the 2013 season, revealing the team’s pre-season cash shortfall.

Simon McNamara interview (Tony Schibeci, On The Grid, Radio SEN, September 8)
Tony Schibeci spoke with Simon McNamara, where the Holden Motorsport manager suggested that V8 Supercars strip Nissan of its Winton win.

FPR’s Civil War (Rob Margeit, Auto Action, Issue #1559)
After a bungled pit strategy at the Sandown 500 and questions rising about Will Davison and Ford’s future at FPR, Rob Margeit’s story hit a nerve.

Nissan V8 shipped to Japan in search of power (Bruce Newton, V8 Supercars.com, Sept 23)
Bruce Newton broke the news that Nismo would step in to assist with the engine development of Nissan Motorsport’s VK56DE engine.

Dispute over V8 Supercars driver switch in court (Geoff Harris, motoring.com.au, Oct 15)
The controversy over Shane van Gisbergen’s move from Stone Brothers Racing to Tekno Autosports seemed to have been forgotten. But as Geoff Harris revealed in October, the dispute was actually in the Federal Court.

Will Davison set for Erebus Mercedes move (Stefan Bartholomaeus, Speedcafe.com, Oct 23)
After being the first to reveal Erebus’ formal interest in Will Davison prior to Bathurst, Speedcafe.com’s Stefan Bartholomaeus broke the news that a deal between the two parties had been struck. FPR confirmed Davison’s exit the following day.

Best Feature Story

Clipsal 500 shows Nissan and Mercedes have a lot of work to do (William Dale, Speed, March 5)
In a detailed analysis of the speed of each manufacturer from the Clipsal 500, Speed’s William Dale gave readers a revealing look at the early season form.

Westfield heiress Betty Saunders-Klimenko journey from orphanage to a life of luxury (James Phelps, Sunday Telegraph, June 9)
In her first season in V8s, Betty Klimenko made her presence felt early, but few knew the real Betty until James Phelps’ revealing, personal, front-page feature story.

Drivers have to walk the talk (Eric Thompson, NZ Herald, June 15)
Eric Thompson gave his readers a unique insight into the world of communication between a driver and his engineer.

The Enforcer Rides On (Craig Revell, V8X Magazine #75)
In his last full-time V8 Supercars season, Russell Ingall opened up to Craig Revell about the past, present and future.

Lowndes on Brock (Paul Gover, V8X Magazine, Issue #77)
In V8X’s pre-Bathurst 1000 edition, Lowndes opens up on his relationship with and lessons learned from Peter Brock.

Super Mario (Tom Howard, Motorsport News #434)
Tom Howard tells the story of V8 Supercar rookie Maro Engel’s formative years, starting with his introduction to motorsport through childhood friend Nico Rosberg.

Volvo attacks (Bruce Newton, V8X Magazine, Issue #78)
Bruce Newton gave the revealing inside story on how Volvo linked up with Garry Rogers Motorsport.

Broken Wings (Ashleigh Maxwell, Auto Action, Issue #1568)
Aerodynamic parity became a big talking point during the 2013 V8 Supercars season, and AA’s Ashleigh Maxwell pointed the spotlight on the aero testing process.

Best Journalist

Stefan Bartholomaeus, Speedcafe.com
Phil Branagan, Motorsport News
Jon Evans, Auto Action
Mark Fogarty, Fairfax Media, Auto Action
Kassie Gadeke, V8 Supercars.com
Guy Hand, AAP
Geoff Harris, Motoring.com.au
Lewis Isaac, Auto Action
Gordon Lomas, Speedcafe.com
Rob Margeit, Auto Action
Ashleigh Maxwell, Auto Action
Adrian Musolino, V8X Magazine
Bruce Newton, V8X/Auto Action/V8 Supercars Website
Steve Normoyle, Motorsport News
Garry O’Brien, Auto Action
James Phelps, News Limited
Erik Thompson, NZ Hearld
Tony Whitlock, RaceFax

Best Radio/Podcast

Auto Track FM (Hawksbury Radio, Chris Underwood)
On the Grid (SEN Radio, Tony Schibeci)
Radio Hotlap (Podcast, Jon Hart)
V8 Insiders (Podcast, Craig Revell)
V8 Nation (Crocmedia, Matt Worland, Rick Kelly and Paul Dumbrell)

Best Broadcaster/Commentator

Mark Beretta, Seven Network
Richard Craill, Track commentary, Network Ten
Riana Crehan, Track commentary/Seven Network
Neil Crompton, Seven Network
Cameron van den Dungen, Track commentary
Chris Jewell, Track commentary
Mark Larkham, Seven Network
Glenn Mintern, Track commentary
Aaron Noonan, Seven Network
Chad Neylon, Track commentary
Greg Rust, Network Ten
Tony Schibeci, SEN Radio
Mark Skaife, Seven Network
Matt White, Seven Network
Jessica Yates, Speed

Best Photographer

James Baker
Rob Cianflone
Cray Cross
Justin Deeley
Ross Gibb
Andrew Hall
Mark Horsburgh
Dirk Klynsmith
John Morris
Peter Norton
Ben O’Connor
John Pyke
James Smith
Scott Wensley

Best PR

Ben Beazley, BAM Media
Samantha Bonner, Red Bull
Gus Burrows, BAM Media
Jessica Dane, Triple Eight Race Engineering
Brayden Hailes, Tony D’Alberto Racing
Cole Hitchcock, V8 Supercars
Chris Jordan, Nissan Motor Company
Phil Mahoney, Jack Daniel’s Racing
Lachlan Mansell, Veracity Media
Gerald McDornan, Holden Motorsport
Brett Murray, BAM Media
Ben Nightingale, Tekno Autosports
Sally Parkinson, Garry Rogers Motorsport
Matt Payne, BAM Media
Dale Rogers, Dick Johnson Racing
Grant Rowley, Nissan Motorsport
Peter Trevaskis, Ford Performance Racing

Hall of Fame

Phil Branagan
Neil Crompton
Mike Drewer
Mark Fogarty
Tom Floyd
Chris de Fraga
Paul Gover
Evan Green
Bryan Hanrahan
David Hassell
Mike Kable
Ray Kershler
Chris Lambden
Barry Lake
Gordon Lomas
Peter McKay
Brett Murray
Bruce Newton
Mark Oastler
Tim Pemberton
Mike Porter
Mike Raymond
David Segal
Max Stahl
Bill Tuckey
Tony Whitlock
Garry Wilkinson